I Read: Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire

Now this book is closer to my style, if you couldn’t tell by the fact that I read it in a matter of days, not months. And while I didn’t love it, at least I liked it. Definitely getting closer.

It was an entertaining retelling of the classic Cinderella fairytale. I wasn’t wowed by it, though. And I hate to be that person to compare an author’s work to what will probably be what he/she is best known for, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as Wicked.

It had many of the same elements of Wicked I enjoyed: taking the fantastic and making it realistic, showing the reader a new perspective on an old tale, and practically forcing you to fall for the “villain.”

But for me it wasn’t as nuanced a novel. I was really impressed with how Maguire created an entirely new political layer for Wicked that added so much more depth to the entire story, making Dorothy’s appearance somewhat secondary to the story. With this novel, that wasn’t there for me. It seemed to me like the same Cinderella story with some additional mystery and a few new motivations revealed, but at its heart, the same story.

I still liked it. I rooted for the main “evil” stepsister and wanted her to end up with her love. I also appreciated the twist at the very end. But I don’t think it’s a story that will stick with me for very long.

On to the next one!

Leave a Reply

